Monday, April 26, 2010

IPL 10

IPL 2010 got a great success - despite the terror threats, match-fixing and Income-Tax controversies -  and Chennai Super Kings are the new champions. This season have brought out many talented Indian youngsters - Naman Ojha, Sourabh Tiwary, Ravichandran Ashwin are some of those. Veterans like Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble, have shown their experience and guided the youngsters all over the tournament. Big stars like Shane Warne, Jaques Kallis, Muthiah Muralitharan have given their commitment to make this season interesting. In total, this IPL was more twisty and interesting than the previous editions.
Here comes the brief story of IPL 10. Tournament started with a tight KKR vs DC match giving KKR their first victory and the Deccan Chargers' early lose. Some crucial matches brought a race for the semis spots except for Mumbai Indians who had lost only 5 matches including pity-full finals. Low scoring victories to DC, high scoring loses to KXIP, DC's storming semi-finals entry, Bollinger's  bowling, Malinga's yorkers, Pollard's sixes, Sachin's boundaries, Ashwin's spins, RR chasings, Murali Vijay's century, Ojha's wickets, Yusuf's fastest century, Uthappa's maximums, Raina's saves, Kumble's rapid balls made the tournament entertaining. Ravi Shashtri's commentaries seasoned the telecast. Looked like Indian fielding improved much better. Final A R Rahman concert was beautiful and unforgettable. This time both Pink and Orange caps captured by Indians, P Ojha and Sachin respectively 
Final between CSK and MI was pretty more interesting. I didn't watch but listened through FM as my internal assessments were on. Partnership between Raina and Dhoni was delightful. First over maiden made the MI's confident go down. Pollard's sixes looked like making the match turn around but failed to do so. Defeating the Mumbai Indians by 22 runs Chennai Super Kings bagged the trophy. Credits to Ashwin and Raina. 
As I told earlier, this is the best IPL of the three, if controversies (Modi and Match-fixing) are forgotten.

1 comment:

  1. Ur blog very much sums up the entire IPL. This year's IPL was truly interesting with an Indian captain winning it for the first time.